Chairman - Jan Sime : Vice Chairman - Gordon Browne : Secretary -Caretaken by Jan Sime & Gordon Browne : Treasurer - TBA


HTL - Gordon Browne : Bill Vos Memorial - Dennis Bird : Postals - Jan Sime : F3B - Nigel Wilkinson/Jan Sime : F3J - Ian Sime : F3K - Brett Lewis : F5J - Mike Vos : 2 Meter/New Commers - We need a rep please :
Slope - Izak Theron(Gauteng) Rus Conradt (KZN) Kevin Farr(WC) : Scale/Cross Country/GPS Racing - Chris Adrian

Calendar: Jan Sime & Gordon Browne

21 January 2009

BVMT 2009 - Round 1 results

Dear Glider Guiders,

A big 'thank you" to all those that participated in the first round of the 2009 BVMT making it the success that it was. It was particularly encouraging to host three visitors, namely Michel Leusch, Luke Johnson and Mike Stark. We hope they enjoyed themselves and that they will return to Summeveld in the near future.

The weather forecast was not very encouraging, nor was the sight of low cloud approaching Summerveld from the south. However, our optimism was rewarded and we were able to complete four rounds before the weather had the final say.

The new format involved getting back to basics and the modest target time of six minutes, coupled with the customary 100 bonus points for a spot landing, proved sufficiently difficult to separate the 12 participants. The lift was reasonable for most of the time, provided one could avoid the lowest of the clouds, which was not always easy. The patch of ground from which we flew had been recently mown which made landings reasonably fair. The walk to retrieve the 'chutes was however more difficult wth waist high grass in places. On one occasion I even flushed a pair of quale on my way to collect the 'chute.

Allan was in top form with his trusty Graphite and took top honours, dropping only 20 points out of a possible 1840 points. He was closely followed by young Ryan Nelson and dad, Simon. Michel showed his class with a creditable 93,1% of the top score for the day.

The full results are shown below.

BVMT 2009 Scores for Round 1 of 4
** 2m
Rank, Pilot, Score

1, Allan Sneedon, 1000
2, Ryan Nelson, 989
3, Simon Nelson, 961
4, Michel Leusch, 931
5, Dennis Bird, 891**
6, Don Slatter, 867
7, Brian Fanning, 866
8, Mike Stark, 838
9, Andrew Plint, 823
10, Luke Johnson, 767
11, Norman Smith, 654**
12, Peter Plint, 536**

DMAC Gliding Coordinator

No comments: